IFSHT Cristina Alegri Award for Innovation in Hand Therapy


This award for innovation in hand therapy was created in memory of Cristina Alegri, an Occupational Therapist from Buenos Aires, Argentina. Cristina is credited by many in South America for her innovations and contributions to the practice of Hand Therapy, including the use of snail slime in the treatment of scars. The Spanish Version and an English translation of this presentation are attached below. Cristina Alegri was a member of the 10th IFSHT Triennial Congress Program Committee. Cristina died in 2014.


The award will be a framed certificate, which will be presented at the IFSHT Triennial Congress. Should the recipient not be able to attend, they may designate a person to receive the award on their behalf, or an unframed certificate will be posted to their home address. Following the congress the award will be made public on the IFSHT website and in IFSHT publications.

This award will be given again in London 2022.

Applications will be accepted until 31 December 2021.

Scar Snails English VersionBaba De Caracol Castellano

How to Apply


  • Innovations in practice assessment, treatment methods, therapeutic approaches, splinting, adaptive equipment design, or therapeutic equipment related to hand therapy practice will be considered for this award.
  • The innovation is a current development, within the past 5 years.
  • The candidate must be nominated by a professional colleague; self- nominations will not be accepted
  • Candidates for this award are occupational or physical therapists who are in good standing within their professional organizations
  • A group project may be nominated, if a therapist was a major contributor to the innovation
  • No posthumous awards will be accepted
  • The candidate will provide a short 400 word maximum description of the project for review by the committee
  • The candidate will provide 3 images maximum for review by the committee
  • The candidate will provide 1 power-point slide that summarizes the innovation, to be shown at the Triennial Congress



  • To nominate a therapist for the IFSHT Cristina Alegri Innovation Award please complete the following application.
  • Note that the application should be completed by both the nominating person and the candidate together.
  • Applications close six months prior to the Triennial Congress.
  • The award recipient is responsible to obtain a VISA prior to travel


Applications will be accepted until 31 December 2021.

*Please note that the form is only accessible to logged-in IFSHT website users – please log in or create an account, to access the form


Previous Recipients

The Cristina Alegri Award was awarded for the first time in October 2016 at the 10th IFSHT Triennial Congress in Buenos Aires, Argentina to Birgitta Rosen for her contribution to the understanding of the hand and sensibility.

The quality of application for the 2019 Award was extremely high.At the Congress in Berlin, the award was given posthumously to Judy Bell-Krotoski for her innovation about the role of Semmes Weinstein Monofilaments in quantifying sensory loss.

Attached below is the presentation given at the Awards Ceremony which presents all eight innovations. Please take the time to look at these innovations and do contact the applicant for further information should you wish.

2019 Award