The International Federation of Societies for Hand Therapy (IFSHT) was founded in 1989 and represents over 10,000 therapists around the world. Both physical and occupational therapists may specialise in treatment of the hand and upper extremity. IFSHT connects therapists that have specialised in treatment of the upper extremity to one another. Currently 55 National Hand Therapy Organisations and their membership are represented within IFSHT.

IFSHT History


The mission statement of the IFSHT is to provide global networking and educational opportunities to develop and enhance the practice of hand therapy.

Furthermore, the IFSHT endeavours to promote the principles and practice of Hand Therapy internationally, thereby increasing the number of patients with hand injuries who receive rehabilitation. At the 2016 International Congress in Buenos Aires, a presentation was given “Reflections of Past Presidents”. This gives a great flavour of the heart of IFSHT.

The website aims to facilitate the communication between hand therapy societies and individual hand therapists all over the world, by:

  • Informing the members of forthcoming national and international courses, congresses and meetings.
  • Regularly updating the IFSHT Host Centres directory. Please, fill in the registration form and apply today!
  • Introducing the members delegates to you with a link to the national Hand Therapy Societies website.


IFSHT has a number of standing and ad hoc committees. If you would like to get involved with IFSHT, please volunteer to sit on one of the committees. Click here for a form to complete to let us know which committees you would be interested in. You will need to provide some basic information about you. The following committees are seeking members: Financial Review, Membership, Sponsorship, Education, Awards, Translation and Social Media.

Our Committees

Current Executive

At the 11th Triennial IFSHT Congress in Berlin, Germany in June 2019, the council voted in the current executive members for the term of 2019-2022. Four members: Anne Wajon, Immediate-Past President; Nicola Goldsmith, President; Peggy Boineau, President Elect, and Maureen Hardy, Secretary General, served on the 2016-2019 IFSHT Executive. They were joined by two new executive members: Stacey Doyon, Treasurer and Susan de Klerk, Information Officer.

Our Members

Join us at the 2022 London Congress

Joint Triennial Congress Combined Meeting With FESSH

6TH – 10TH June

ExCeL Conference Centre
Royal Victoria Dock
1 Western Gateway

London, UK

Find Out More