11th IFSHT Congress 2019 Berlin

"Building Bridges - Together Hand in Hand" 17th - 21st June 2019

11th Triennial IFSHT and 14th IFSSH Congress was held in Berlin, Germany.

We would like to congratulate Natascha Weihs, President of DAHT (German Society of Hand Therapy) and her eight committee members for their efforts in holding such a successful Triennial Congress in June 2019. Beate Jung (Germany) and Dorit Aaron (USA) where co-chairs of the scientific committee and worked together with their 11 committee members in creating a stimulating and informative programme. Lisa O’Brian (Australia) chaired the Scientific Review Committee which had 16 members from all over the world.  There were 680 therapists registered for the Congress. There were 25 session chairs and in addition to the invited speakers, 179 abstracts were selected from 225 submissions, of which 33 were presented as free papers. The programme also included eight Hand Therapy Workshops; four Hand Therapy Free Paper Sessions; 24 Hand Therapy Sessions and two Combined Therapy-Surgery Sessions.


Judith A. Bell Krotoski (USA) was awarded the inaugural Cristina Alegri Award (posthumously) during the Congress in Berlin. A blinded international evaluation committee, recognized Judith’s extensive work on monofilaments.


The IFSHT introduced the Lifetime Achievement awards during the conference in Berlin. The Lifetime Achievement Award can be granted to any person who excels globally, beyond what is normally expected in the field of hand therapy. Member societies were asked to nominate any individual that in their opinion qualify for such an award. Thirteen persons received the Lifetime achievement award in Berlin, namely: Shrikant Chinchalkar (Canada), Judy Colditz (USA), Adiela Estrada (Colombia), Lynn Feehan (Canada), Victoria Frampton (UK), Anette Leveridge (UK), Evelyn Mackin (USA), Pat McKee (Canada), Margareta Persson (Sweden), Rosemary Prosser (Australia), Jean-Claude Rouzaud (France), Dominique Thomas (France) and Corrianne van Velze (South Africa).