IFSHT History

The International Federation of Societies for Hand Therapy (IFSHT) was formed as a result of the participation of hand therapists in the First Congress of the International Federation of Societies for Surgery of the Hand (IFSSH) in the Netherlands in 1980. Encouraged by Doctors Raoul Tubiana and Yves Allieu from France and Dr Georgio Brunnelli from Italy, the IFSHT was founded with an initial membership of twelve countries.

The First International Congress of IFSHT was held in Tel Aviv, Israel in April 1989, Evelyn Mackin, USA, taking the Presidential Chair, with Jean-Claude Rouzaud, France, appointed the Secretary General. The first Council meeting of IFSHT was held on 13th April 1989 and was attended by delegates from Australia, Belgium, France, Great Britain, Italy, Israel, New Zealand, Poland, South Africa and USA, with observers from Taiwan and the Netherlands

Growth The Federation continued to grow and by May 1992 when the Second Congress of IFSHT was held in Paris, five more countries had also joined. IFSHT continues to grow. The 7th IFSHT triennial congress took place in Sydney, Australia, in 2007 with a record attendance of 513 therapists representing 32 countries demonstrating how far the organisation has come in such a short time.

Recent History Successful congresses have been held every three years around the world. In 2012, IFSHT was registered as a non-profit organisation in Switzerland. IFSHT now has 38 full, 6 associate and 11 corresponding member countries representing all continents in the world.

History of IFSHT

Former IFSHT Congresses

● 2019   Berlin, Germany – President: Anne Wajon, Australia

● 2016   Buenos Aires, Argentina – President: Sarah Ewald, Switzerland

● 2013   New Delhi, India – President: Lynne Feehan, Canada

● 2010   Orlando, USA – President: Judy Colditz, USA

● 2007   Sydney, Australia – President: Maggi Persson, Sweden

● 2004   Edinburgh, Scotland – President: Annette Leveridge, UK

● 2001   Istanbul, Turkey – President: Corianne van Velze, South Africa

● 1998   Vancouver, Canada – President: Victoria Frampton, UK

● 1995   Helsinki, Finland – President: Jean-Claude Rouzaud, France

● 1992   Paris, France – President: Evelyn Mackin, USA

● 1989   Tel Aviv, Israel – President: Evelyn Mackin, USA

Inspiring Video

Video from former President Evelyn Mackin

IFSHT Past Presidents

A video from IFSHT Past Presidents