The International Federation of Societies for Hand Therapy (IFSHT) was formed as a result of the participation of hand therapists in the First Congress of the International Federation of Societies for Surgery of the Hand (IFSSH) in the Netherlands in 1980. Encouraged by Doctors Raoul Tubiana and Yves Allieu from France and Dr Georgio Brunnelli from Italy, the IFSHT was founded with an initial membership of twelve countries.

The First International Congress of IFSHT was held in Tel Aviv, Israel in April 1989, Evelyn Mackin, USA, taking the Presidential Chair, with Jean-Claude Rouzaud, France, appointed the Secretary General. The first Council meeting of IFSHT was held on 13th April 1989 and was attended by delegates from Australia, Belgium, France, Great Britain, Italy, Israel, New Zealand, Poland, South Africa and USA, with observers from Taiwan and the Netherlands

Growth The Federation continued to grow and by May 1992 when the Second Congress of IFSHT was held in Paris, five more countries had also joined. IFSHT continues to grow. The 7th IFSHT triennial congress took place in Sydney, Australia, in 2007 with a record attendance of 513 therapists representing 32 countries demonstrating how far the organisation has come in such a short time.

Recent History Successful congresses have been held every three years around the world. In 2012, IFSHT was registered as a non-profit organisation in Switzerland. IFSHT now has 37 full, 5 associate and 8 corresponding member countries representing all continents in the world. We are also delighted to have 5 commercial members.

Past International Congresses

1989   Tel Aviv, Israel  President  - Evelyn Mackin, USA
1992   Paris, France  President  - Evelyn Mackin, USA
1995   Helsinki, Finland  President  - Jean Claude Rouzard, France
1998   Vancouver, Canada  President  - Victoria Frampton, UK
2001   Istanbul, Turkey  President  - Corianne van Velze, South Africa
2004   Edinburgh, Scotland  President  - Annette Leveridge, UK
2007   Sydney, Australia  President  - Maggi Persson, Sweden
2010   Orlando, USA  President  - Judy Colditz, USA
2013   New Delhi, India  President  - Lynne Feehan, Canada
2016   Buenos Aires, Argentina  President  - Sarah Ewald, Switzerland
2019   Berlin, Germany  President  - Anne Wajon, Australia

IFSHT Past Presidents and Sarah Ewald, President Elect

For a summary of the History of IFSHT, please see the attached PDF and do watch the inspiring video from Evelyn Mackin

Reflections of Legends

Click for Video

File Attachments: 

PDF icon History of IFSHT Nov 2012.pdf354.75 KB